The first thing that drew me to this book was the enticing cover. I was looking for a psychological thriller, and thankfully now there seems to be a growing interest in these novels since Gone Girl hit the big screen.

So this novel with its black cover and tangled white lines made my mind wander to someplace very dark and twisted. I couldn’t wait to dive into this book, and again, I lucked out and it’s set to become a movie. (I love to see how my favorite books transfer onto the big screen.)

When I first picked up the book, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I knew there was some type of accident during a bachelorette party, and at first I was skeptical. The protagonist in the story is compelling from the very beginning, though. She is bitter, isolated, and skeptical herself when invited to an old friend’s “hen” party. Something makes her go, which starts a series of events that unfold in a suspenseful, artistic way.

The novel switches back and forth between the protagonist waking up in the hospital, and the flashbacks as she tries to remember a possible “murder” that took place in a glass cabin in the middle of the woods. This book definitely kept me on edge, and I am proud to have the binding creased and pages worn to look at on my shelf of finished novels. I loved the agony of the main character and the way the tension built more and more over each chapter and you truly aren’t sure until the very end who the murderer is and why everything happened the way that it did.

The author, Ruth Ware, stated in an interview at the end of the book that many people still find female villains to be so shock-worthy. It’s true. And beautiful. I love a good, strong female role that is a little saucy and has some dark secrets. I mean, don’t we all have some secrets in our closet? Haven’t so many of us fantasized of revenge? Yet so many times woman are portrayed as fragile beings who need a man, or who must find themselves – usually with the help of a man.

One thing is for sure, I will be picking up Ruth Ware’s other novel, The Woman in Cabin 10 as soon as possible. So if you’re looking for something to keep you up late guessing, or in my case I once fell asleep snuggling with In A Dark, Dark Wood, then you should definitely check out Ruth Ware.

518wwd6sorl-_uy250_

http://simplifylifewithmrsr.com

