I only chose to read this book because I saw that Finnick, from “The Hunger Games“, was going to play the character of Will. And you see, I have this thing where if there is a movie version, I have to read the book first. It was a way that, when I was younger, I encouraged myself to read more. Now it’s more of a pet peeve.

So I wasn’t thrilled at first to start this novel. I really just wanted to see the movie. It seemed all a little too chick-lit and chick-flick for me, but I was willing to give it a shot. (I prefer more of a twisted thriller such as “Girl on the Train” or anything by Gillian Flynn.)

me-before-you-poster

It took me probably about 100 pages or so to really get into the novel. It’s tough to get me so into a book anymore that I don’t want to put it down, and I would shortly after really getting invested into the book when the sister shows up and throws a fit and you realize WHY…that is when I really started to become invested in the book.

I won’t spoil the ending or the storyline for anyone. I’m here to discuss the writing and the fact that despite that it is about true love and is a bit mushy – it is a really great read. First of all, the character of Will is a quadriplegic. The author actually did research on this topic for this book as she had two close relatives who were dependent on twenty-four-hour care. A news story she had read dealing with the storyline she takes also influenced her. So she isn’t just writing this willy-nilly in order to sell copies of such a distraught and difficult love. It actually has heart and gripping moments. (I cried at the end – and that is rare for me.)

While I sometimes feel novels talk too much about characters, I understand that this is to paint a picture for the reader and to feel as though we know the characters and believe we are friends. I would mostly like to point out that the author, JoJo Moyes, does an excellent job at that tricky transition of the falling action of the novel and the resolution. I have seen this done very sloppily in other novels. I also run into it myself when I write even short stories. How do you make a smooth transition and not feel as though you are cheating the readers? I felt cheated at the end of reading “Mockingjay”. I felt there could have been so much more explored and it was just summed up “later”. 

Anyway, if you don’t detest chick-lit – this is definitely one that I would recommend. I am really looking forward to reading some more from JoJo Moyes – especially the sequel to “Me Before You”. Now unfortunately I did not get to see the film yet, but I am excitedly awaiting for it to be released on blu-ray. My favorite thing is to see the similarities and differences between a novel and the film adaptation. I am sure even as a quadriplegic, Sam Claflin will look just as beautiful as he did as Finnick. So yes, pick up this book if you haven’t already and are looking for something to read. I actually thoroughly enjoyed the novel. 

Reading Now: “Luckiest Girl Alive” by Jessica Knoll   

http://simplifylifewithmrsr.com

IMG_4625

